German Development Bank (KFW) Masters Scholarships 2021/2022 for East African Students

Filed in African Scholarships by on October 10, 2020 0 Comments

Call for Applications from Students in the East African Community (EAC) to pursue KFW funded Masters Scholarships.

Application Deadline: 22nd October 2020, 17:00 hours, East Africa Time

Eligible Countries: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

To be Taken at (Country): EAC Partner State other than their country of citizenship

Field(s) of Study: 1) Mathematics, 2) Engineering, 3) Informatics, 4) Science, 5) Technology and 6) Business Science.

About the Award: Applications are invited for the above named scholarship programme supported by the German Development Bank (KFW) in collaboration with the East African Community (EAC) and implemented by the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA). The goal of this initiative is to contribute towards training leaders that will foster EAC regional integration.

Applicants are expected to study in countries other than their own in selected universities and programmes. Successful applicants will  be offered a comprehensive package including scholarships for the masters programmes, internships, mentoring, networking events and further leadership training activities. The scholarship will support masters students in Mathematics, Engineering, Informatics, Science, Technology and Business Science programmes. IUCEA hereby invites applications from students who are citizens of the East African Community (EAC) Partner States to apply for the KFW funded Masters Scholarships.

Type: Masters

Selection Criteria: The minimum requirements for qualification for the programme are:

  1. Be a citizen of a partner state of the East African Community;
  2. Possess the required academic qualifications for admission to the programme (at least at the level of Upper Second Class Honours or “Distinction” as applicable;
  3. Submit a motivation letter in English (with not more than 500 words) as follows:
  • well written (grammatically and professionally)
  • Demonstrates a convincing motivation for wanting to pursue the Master’s Programme chosen          
  • Adequately demonstrates the applicant’s foreseen professional engagement in the EAC Integration agenda after completing the Master’s Programme
  • Demonstrates how they expect to apply the acquired skills and knowledge from the Master’s Programme to contribute to the EAC Integration Agenda
  • Demonstrates where they anticipate to see themselves professionally and academically in 5 and 10 years.

Note: This has to be one letter

i. Be below 35 years of age; and
ii. Have obtained an admission from a university in another country in the EAC Region other than their own.

Number of Awards: 60

Value of Award: The project offers financial support to academically skilled and disadvantaged Master’s students with the main focus on priority areas. Women and persons with disabilities are encouraged to join the programme.

The scholarship covers:

  1. University tuition fees: payable directly to the university according to an official invoice;
  2. Stipend: EUR380 per month to support living expenses including housing, food, utilities, local transportation and settlement expenses;
  3. Allowances for study materials and research: EUR 1,500 one-off allowance;
  4. Medical insurance; and
  5. Extracurricular events: at least one event per year.

Duration of Award: 2 years

How to Apply: See in Award Webpage Link (below)

  • It is important to go through all
    application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.

Visit Award Webpage for Details

Join our Newsletter

Join Our Whatsapp Groups

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!